top of page
Picture 2.jpg

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

We are very proud to offer the Duke of Edinburgh Award here at GWA. We support students through all three awards, Bronze in Year 9, Silver in Year 10 and finally Gold in Year 12. When starting your journey at the Bronze award we will help you via an Enrichment programme targeted specifically at training you for your expedition, which includes navigation, cooking, tent craft and first aid, as well as navigating and completing the Volunteering, Physical and Skills sections of the award. 


What is the Duke of Edinburgh Award?

A life-changing experience. A fun time with friends. An opportunity to discover new interests and talents. A tool to develop essential skills for life and work. A recognised mark of achievement; respected by employers.

The DofE is many things to many people, supporting generations to successfully navigate adult life.

14-24 year-olds can do a DofE programme at one of three progressive levels which, when successfully completed, leads to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award.

There are four sections to complete at Bronze and Silver level and five at Gold. They involve helping the community/environment, becoming fitter, developing new skills, planning, training for and completing an expedition and, for Gold only, working with a team on a residential activity.

Any young person can do their DofE – regardless of ability, gender, background or location. Achieving an Award isn’t a competition or about being first. It’s all about setting personal challenges and pushing personal boundaries.

Through a DofE programme young people have fun, make friends, improve their self-esteem and build confidence. They gain essential skills and attributes for work and life such as resilience, problem-solving, team-working, communication and drive, enhancing CVs and uni and job applications.

Picture 5.jpg

Key Dates for 2023

bottom of page